## About the Doctoral School of Management

The history of doctoral studies in Management is linked to that of the Management Faculty, whose foundational bases were established through the Law founding the Academy of High Commercial and Industrial Studies in Bucharest in April 1913. In the academic year 1967-1968, the name of the Academy of Economic Studies (BUES-Bucharest University of Economic Studies) was adopted, consisting of 6 faculties, one of which was named the Faculty of Production Economics, with two sections: Industry Economics and Agricultural Economics. Starting from the academic year 1971-1972, the name was changed to the Faculty of Industrial Economics, and in the academic year 1974-1975, it transformed into the "Faculty of Industrial Economics, Construction, and Transportation." In 1986, it merged with the Faculty of Accounting and Agricultural Economics, resulting in the "Faculty of Industrial and Agricultural Economics," with two corresponding sections. This symbiosis was short-lived, as in February 1990, the two sections became independent faculties. From the year 1990, the name changed to the Faculty of Management, offering three specializations: Management in industry; Management in construction, transportation, and telecommunications; General Economy. During that period, the doctoral studies within the Faculty of Management were conducted in the branch of Economics with specializations in Industry, Construction, and Transportation Management; Economics and Ergonomic Work Organization; Firm Management; Procurement and Marketing Management; Economic Efficiency of Investments and Technological Progress.

In 1997, BUES was accredited as an Organizing Institution for Doctoral Studies (IOSUD) by the Minister of National Education, for 7 doctoral programs in fundamental fields like Economics and Law, including the Management program. Starting from the academic year 2005-2006, the Faculty of Management (as well as the entire university) adopted the education system in line with the Bologna Process (known as "3-2-3", i.e., 3 years for the bachelor's cycle, 2 years for the master's cycle, and 3 years for the doctoral cycle). During this period, the Faculty of Management was organized into four departments, with doctoral supervisors coming from three departments: Management Department, Economic Efficiency Department, Administration and Public Management to become an independent faculty. The members of the Faculty of Administration and Public Management continue to coordinate doctoral studies in Management and are currently part of the Doctoral School of Management.

In 2011, BUES was re-accredited as an Organizing Institution for Doctoral Studies (IOSUD) for 10 doctoral programs in fundamental fields of Economics and Law, including the Management program. In 2021, BUES was evaluated by ARACIS and was re-accredited at both the IOSUD level and in the 10 doctoral fields in the branches of Economics and Law.

The Doctoral School of Management currently consists of professors from the Management Department (Faculty of Management), Administration and Public Management Department (Faculty of Administration and Public Management), UNESCO Department for Business Administration (Faculty of Business Administration in Foreign Languages). Additionally, one member from the University of Bucharest, is included.

The Doctoral School of Management stands out with a diverse and dynamic offer of doctoral research themes, focused on the latest approaches in the field, defined based on the research objectives of each doctoral student as well as the business environment in Romania.